After the close of their convention in Reno this past Saturday,the NABF has a new logo, a new slogan, a new president and new energy. The members left with a renewed enthusiasm for their work in boxing.

Friday morning’s opening ceremonies included a few words from former Dallas Cowboys player, Glen Carano, welcoming delegates to the El Dorado Hotel and Casino. By unanimous vote, Duane Ford was elected president. His speech was very motivational, challenging the members to always conduct their work with professionalism, dedication, and the highest ethics.

All attendees were then invited to a “Thank You For Being Here” lunch, another chance to visit with friends. That afternoon, more than 80 of the delegates walked a few blocks through downtown Reno to the original neon sign so often seen in old Hollywood movies, the arch that says, “Reno, Biggest Little City in the World”. The gathering stopped traffic, filled the street, and a picture was snapped of group. Next was a visit to Harrah’s Automobile Museum, one of the largest and best collection of vintage cars in the world. Friday evening started with “A New Era” cocktail party. Dinner was open, but the late night hospitality suite rocked ’til the wee hours.

Saturday started off with a general session for all to attend. Committees were appointed and there were reports from committee chairs. NABF members were updated on the current AIBA issue, and the NABF takes a strong position against AIBA and its plans for boxers – both amateur and professional. Discussion was held on the convention for 2014, and many suggestions were made from the floor for locations. After lunch, the training sessions were held for referees and judges.

Saturday evening began with a cocktail reception, then a festive awards dinner, including a fabulous buffet dinner overseen by Mama, the star chef at the El Dorado. Guy Clifton, author of “Dempsey in Nevada”, entertained us with a slide show and excerpts from his fascinating book on the legendary fighter. Three days of serious work and play, encouraged all involved to be the best in their areas of expertise when they are working in The Sweet Science.

President: Dane Ford
VP: Craig Hubble
VP: Mauricio Sulaiman
VP: Ed Pearson
Executive Secretary – Operations: Chris Stilson
Executive Secretary – Presidency: Joanna Aguilar

Past President/Ratings Chair: Claude Jackson
Advisor Members: Aberto Reyes, Rex Walker, Sam Macias, Dr. Edwin “Flip” Homansky
USA: Michael George
Mexico: Jose Manzur
Canada: Tim Dunlap
Sam Macias
Dickie Cole
Claude Jackson
Rex Walker
Joe Dwyer

Admissions & Membership: David Sutherland
Championship: Craig Hubble
Convention: Duane Ford
Evaluation of Officials: Duane Ford
Female Division: Paula McClellan
Finance: Rex Walker
Grievance & Appeals: Robert Lenhardt
Legal & By-Laws: Craig Hubble
Officials: Hubert Minn
Fight Video Review: Steve Morrow
Program & Publicity: Deborah Hawkins & Jill Diamond
Ratings: Claude Jackson

*Many thanks to Deb Hawkins and Jill Diamond for their invaluable information and contributions to this report.

nabf2013 1  nabf2013 2  nabf2013 3

Photos: Carlos Baeza